GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
8% 12 0

Tutor in Anchorage, AK, Seeks Tutor Job.Heather's Tutor Profile 1738363

Profile Photos (31) Videos (2) Reports (1) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Educated ESL teacher & tutor seeks vibrant family.

    Personal

  • 34-year old female
  • American
  • Living in United States
  • Has a passport for United States
  • Has no visa
  • 5' or 152 Centimeters
  • 90 Lbs or 41 Kgs

    Qualifications

  • 3 Years of paid experience
  • 20 or more years of education
  • First-aid trained
  • Swimmer
  • Valid driver's license
  • References available

Contact Heather H.

Register now to get these free features:

  • candidate Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact candidates directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Introduction

Dear Future Family:

I am writing to express my genuine interest and enthusiasm for a position teaching and tutoring your children and becoming a part of your family. I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Sociology (graduated magna cum laude) and have earned a certification in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. As a highly compassionate and approachable professional, I have had the opportunity to work in multiple capacities supporting the goal of education, and in each position I have been recognized for my ability to develop rapport, build relationships and foster the positive communication necessary to create an effective learning environment for children and adults from diverse cultures and backgrounds, which are some of the skills that make me a confident, successful educator.

My available resume will provide a detailed account of my academic and career accomplishments, but some examples of my work in education and in an active teaching role include:

• Designing and implementing a structure for comprehensive sustainability education in the social sciences at the University of Alaska Anchorage.

• Organizing and overseeing the creation of a “Safe Bike to School” education program, including the coordination of adult volunteer “leaders” for local elementary students as a member of the Bike Co-Op.

• Developing an engaging and substantive aftercare program, including the creation of environmental education curriculum, that appropriately reflect the goals and values of a Maria Montessori preschool.

• Working with community partners and stakeholders at an alternative high school, nt literacy and barriers to postsecondary education.

• Holding independent responsibility for lesson plan design and instruction for diverse populations of English language students, including those of multiple ages, proficiency levels, and cultural backgrounds, in Guatemala and the United States. In addition to providing an expansive skill and knowledge base, my cumulative experience traveling, volunteering, and teaching has also given me invaluable education in cultural sensitivity and communication, as well as taught me how to be flexible and resourceful with a healthy dose of humor and composure when navigating intercultural situations and new environments.

My hope is to continue to learn and experience the immense cultural diversity of this world, and to offer my own knowledge and skills to others. Teaching, particularly children and adolescents, has given me the perfect platform with which to realize these goals. Therefore, I look forward to discussing how I may use my passion for education and skill as a teacher and TEFL tutor to positively contribute to your family, while I also continue to learn from you.

Tutor Experience

I have 3 years paid experience with the following
Arts & Music Business Computers
Engineering English, Reading & Writing Foreign Language
Math Social Studies Special Education
Science Test Preparation
I am experienced working with these types of special needs
ADD/ADHD Asthma Asperger Syndrome/Autism
Behavioral Issues Down Syndrome Epilepsy
Dyslexia Hearing Impairment Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Tourette Syndrome Visual Impairment
I have the following skills or certifications
Behavioral Issues CPR First Aid
Special Needs American Tutoring Association National Tutoring Association

I am comfortable working with 3 students

Specialties by Subject

Arts & Music - from grades Pre-K to 2
Drama Guitar Music
Piano Art
English, Reading & Writing - from grades Pre-K to Graduate
English ESL Grammar
Language Arts K-6 Literature Phonics
Public Speaking Reading Reading Adult
Writing
Math - from grades 7 to 12
Algebra 1 Algebra 2 Calculus
Differential Equations Elementary School Math Geometry
Integrated Math Linear Algebra Logic
Middle School Math Pre-Calculus Probability
Statistics Trigonometry
Social Studies - from grades Pre-K to College
Elementary Social Studies Geography Government
History Political Science Sociology
Special Education - from grades Pre-K to 12
ADD/ADHD Dyslexia Emotional Behavior
General Hearing Impaired Learning Disabled
Mildly Handicapped Sign Language Speech Pathology
Test Preparation - from grades 3 to Graduate
3rd Grade SOL 5th Grade SOL ACT
Adv. History ASVAB Civil Service
CLAST Math Elem. Standard Testing GED
GMAT GRE HSPT/COOP
IGAP-ISAT ISEE LSAT
MCAT Middle School SOL Nursing Exam
Praxis Private School Entrance PSAT Test
SAT Math SAT Verbal SSAT
TAAS Test TASP Teachers Exam
TESOL TOEFL

Tutor Requirements

I am fluent in the following language: English

I am available to teach the following types of lessons
Group Tutoring Private Tutoring
I am available to teach in the following locations
At Student's School In a Center In Student's Home
Online Tutor's Home
Additional Tutor tasks that I am able to perform
Moderate Sample Exams Sign Language Transportation

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Aug 2020 - Sep 2020
Seeking Full-time, Live In
Negotiable/wk
Lasted logged in 06 Aug 2020
Member since 08 Nov 2013
Lifestyle
Excellent health
Non-smoker
None - I eat everything
No Religion
Has tattoo(s)
No piercings
Languages
English

Match Preferences

Will not work for smokers
Comfortable with pets
Single parents OK
Willing to travel worldwide for work
Preferred Countries:
  • - Angola
  • - Argentina
  • - Bhutan
  • - Bolivia
  • - Botswana
  • - Brazil
  • - Cambodia
  • - Canada
  • - Central African Republic
  • - Chad
  • - Chile
  • - China
  • - Colombia
  • - Cuba
  • - Dominican Republic
  • - Ecuador
  • - El Salvador
  • - Ethiopia
  • - Guam
  • - Guatemala
  • - Guyana
  • - Haiti
  • - Honduras
  • - Indonesia
  • - Italy
  • - Kenya
  • - Libya
  • - Malaysia
  • - Mexico
  • - Mongolia
  • - Myanmar (Burma)
  • - Nepal
  • - Nicaragua
  • - Niger
  • - Nigeria
  • - Paraguay
  • - Peru
  • - Portugal
  • - Russia
  • - Somalia
  • - South Africa
  • - South Korea
  • - Spain
  • - Syria
  • - Thailand
  • - Turkey
  • - Turkmenistan
  • - Uganda
  • - Ukraine
  • - United States
  • - Uruguay
  • - Vanuatu
  • - Venezuela
  • - Vietnam
Preferred Cities:
  • None
Preferred Nationalities:
  • None

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from Beelitz

Emma-Alena H., 2862103

Living in: Germany

Available: Aug 20 - Aug 20

Deer family, my name is Emma. Please text. I've got lots of experience in childcare...

Au Pair Job in Djursholm

Carl H., 1903455

Job Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Job starts: Aug 20 - Aug 20

Position is: Live-in or Live-out

Hello! I have four lovely children, boys aged 11, 14 and two adorable girls, 5 and ...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

CLOSE X