GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
0% 4 0

Nanny Job Available with American Family in Vienna, VALeslie's Nanny Job 2496323

Profile Photos (29) Videos (5) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Nanny to help care for special needs boy

    Our Family

  • American
  • 50-something
  • 5 Children
  • Ages
  • Has pets
  • No Religion
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is not a single employer

    Job Highlights

  • 0yrs experience required
  • 35 to 40 hours/week
  • Driver's license required
  • Car is available
  • References available
  • Pay is Negotiable/wk

Contact Leslie C.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Family's Introduction to Nanny

My husband, Tim, and I currently live with 3 kids. Our 25-year-old son Bobby is living in Austin, TX. Matt, and our 22-year-old baseball genius is down at Old Dominion University. The twincesses, our two bright and energetic 9 year old twins are named Monique and Katharine. Chris, our charming and energetic 11 year old, is a very special boy. We also have a very friendly Labrador retriever, three cats, two fish tanks full of guppies, and a few sea monkeys (brine shrimp) that like to visit Monique's microscope.
I am a Georgetown University graduate with a degree in international politics. I am a big fan of the Dave Matthews Band and like to go to as many concerts as I can get to.
Tim graduated from the University of Maryland with degrees in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. After a long career in the Defense/Industrial Complex he is making a career shift to web services and the world of startups.
I spend most of my days driving kids around. I'm either taking the girls to school or picking them up. All of our kids (with the exception of Chris) are, or were, in the French Immersion program in McLean, about 20 minutes away. I was the bus, I am the bus, and I'll be the bus until they reach middle school.
Our house sits on 1.4 acres of wooded land. Tim says that some of the oaks are over 300 years old - they are well over 100 feet tall and 3' thick at the base. One fell recently (see pictures) There is a stream at the edge of our property. The trail just across the stream will take you to the Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts. If the weather is nice we open the windows in the evening so we can hear concerts through the trees. We often see deer and fox in the yard, and hear hoot owls in the evening. Our previous nanny said she woke up to a deer looking at her through the window.
We are a short distance away from the Silver Line Metro that can take you into DC. They haven't quite finished the bike path, but soon it will be possible to ride a bike to the Metro and take it to anywhere in the city. Parking at the Metro is non-existent so we usually Lyft or Uber over to it for around $6. If you are athletic there is a very popular bike path that will take you into the city too.
The city is, well, amazing. The zoo and all the museums are free. The food situation is fantastic. There are often free concerts and parades sponsored by, well, pretty much everyone. If you want to stand in a crowd of 1 million people watching a massive 4th of July fireworks display you can. We don't know much about the club scene other than that there is one.
Tysons, the little city-ling about a mile away, is home to the oldest and formerly largest indoor mall in the country. It's kept up with the times and is also amazing. The AMC has 16 screens and there are 4 big anchor stores.
The area is very wealthy, which is OK if you are in the market for a Tesla at the local dealership, but can be a bit overwhelming at times. (Who buys matching polo ponies at the mall?!? People who shop at Niemann Marcus, that's who.) North of Rt 7 there are literally hundreds of $5M+ mansions (the 12 bedroom, 16 bath kind), so there is a very active AuPair community. Many of the foreign ones hang out at the local music club in Vienna, VA. It's owned by a band, and they offer music lessons. We have an old beat-up piano if you play.
The nanny living situation is, well, evolving. We are renovating a bedroom/bathroom suite in the basement as the long-term nanny solution. Until that's done we can offer Matt's room upstairs. The down-side is that he will want to be more-or-less the same when he comes home for the holidays so for a couple of months you'll basically be camping out in a teenagers shrine to baseball. The up side is that you will have complete artistic control over how we paint and set up your suite.

Job Description

My husband and I need help caring for our special needs son. He can't walk or talk, drinks from a sippy-cup, wears diapers, and needs help feeding himself. He is also a happy bundle of joy. Our favorite nickname for him is "Sunshine Monkey" because he has a great sense of humor and he is always ready with the purest smile you have ever seen.
Chris charms everyone, including his teachers at school. He can recognize colors, shapes, and some letters and numbers. He's unusually fond of stuffed animals, especially fish. He is a bit of a celebrity at his school - apparently knowing which fish Chris brought to school that day is a topic of conversation throughout the school. At school they work with him on comprehension and communication, and have him walk around in a gait trainer to improve his stance and coordination. He attends summer school so that his skills don't backslide.
The root of his problem is a rare genetic defect called "Dandy-Walker Variant." His cerebellum did not form properly, and as a result his brain is a mess. Neurological imbalance in the muscles of his back caused scoliosis so his spine is a mess too. He can sit up, crawl around, and cruise a bit on his knees, but can't walk without assistance.
Unfortunately, the condition also causes infrequent but serious bouts of epilepsy. A big part of the job is making sure he gets his 3 anti-seizure medications every morning and evening. As he gets older he is having fewer seizures (7 month seizure free period this year! Yay!), but when he does seize up he still goes into status (seizure lasting longer than 5 minutes) and requires a trip to the ER for massive doses of neural suppression drugs. Tim usually goes with him and stays at the hospital for a day or two while they monitor him in intensive care. The neural suppressing drugs they give him are a bit dangerous and need time to wear off.
The job is:
1) At all times, be vigilant for seizure signs. These can be subtle, but once you get to know him they are unmistakable.
2) Get him to school Monday-Friday. This is a long process that involves getting him out of his PJs, changing his diaper, getting him dressed and in braces, carrying him down the stairs (he's about 20 kilos, or 45 lbs), strapping him into his supportive high chair, feeding him breakfast and his medications, and strapping him into his stroller in the garage, and walking him 100 meters to the bus stop. It can be done in 40 minutes but an hour is more realistic.
Since waking him from a deep sleep can cause an epileptic seizure, if he's really asleep we let him wake naturally later and drive him to school. On these days the routine is basically the same but the time is shifted to later and dropping him off at school adds another 40 minutes. Since we don't know how long he will sleep there is a significant and unavoidable unpredictability in the morning schedule, hence the live-in aspect. If Chris is sleeping in you should too. :)
3) In the afternoon around 3PM his bus brings him home. We usually take him upstairs to play in his room and "do his homework." Currently this is simple stuff - roll a ball back and forth, pick out the right shape or color, or work on his sounds - but we hope that with full time help we can do more. He loves walking around in a gait trainer, for example.
4) In the evening he gets dinner, his night time med dosages, his PJs, and then it's off to bed which is just a mattress on the floor. He has the run of his room. We often snuggle and "sing" with him, or play with his stuffed animals until he relaxes and settles in. After we leave we monitor him with a video camera. Since he hasn't quite figured out how to get back into bed he occasionally needs rescuing. Usually it's a simple thing, like going for that amazing toy on the other side of the room, or a sudden need for a new diaper (he lets us know by sitting near the changing table), but sometimes it's more serious.
His morning sleep unpredictability means that his evenings are unpredictable too. On a normal day he's fast asleep within minutes of going to bed. On days that he has had a lot of daytime sleep he won't fall asleep until very late, sometimes past 2AM. Tim usually watches him at his desk via video, but when Tim is out of town we'll have to figure something out.
5) The job also involves being a "big sister" to our twin girls. We are quite flexible, so if one night one of the twins wants you to help her build a "pink sparkly unicorn robot that breaths fire" then either my husband or I would take over Chris duties to give you the time to be the big sister. Raising kids is a team effort.
6) We live in a home, not a house. There is no uniform, or expectation that you will stay in your room when not working. If you want to cook a special dinner, plant a garden, paint a chair, or go into the woods to do "an interpretive dance on the significance of the recent eclipse" then just go for it.

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Apr 2024 - May 2024
From 4 - 36 months
Seeking Full-time, Live In
Negotiable/wk
Last logged in 01 Apr 2024
Member since 12 Mar 2014

Seeking Services

Additional services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance

Match Preferences

We require:
0yrs experience required
Candidates that live within my country
Valid drivers license
We prefer:
Female candidates
28-34 year olds
12 or more years of education
No couples
We speak:
English
Special care:
Special needs care



Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from Wilkinson

Brighton P., 3511966

Living in: United States

Available: May 24 - Aug 24

Hello, I am an excited and outgoing young adult. I love children and have been carin...

Personal Assistant Job in Nassau

noel l., 1539584

Job Location: New Providence, The Bahamas

Job starts: Apr 19 - Apr 19

Position is: Live-in

...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

Please sign up to share profiles via email.

CLOSE X