GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
100% 0 0

Personal Assistant Job Available with American Family in Austin, TXMarque's Personal Assistant Job 1521180

Profile Photos (7) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Live-In Personal Attendant/Assistant

    Our Family

  • American
  • 40-something
  • Has pets
  • No Religion
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is a single male employer

    Job Highlights

  • Female or male candidates
  • <1 yrs paid experience required
  • 45 to 50 hours/week
  • English is required
  • Driver's license required
  • References available
  • Pay is Negotiable/wk

Contact Marque M.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.

Job Description

This posting is for a Live-In Attendant in Central Texas. You must be a driven individual who is interested in working with a man with quadriplegia (paralysis from the neck down) who practices law in Austin. The location is in the Four Points area. This position is very demanding at times. It can require one to be active and/or available all hours and days if needed at unforeseen circumstances. The man has other attendants that you will work with at times. In addition to personal care, the attendant has daily, weekly, and monthly tasks, but has autonomy to perform most of the tasks. If autonomy is your weakness and it fosters procrastination, then this position is not right for you. Life seems to change all the time, but a typical day could require--depending on needs--assistance for a few early morning hours, an hour here/there throughout the day, a few hours late evening hours, and available as needed overnight. Nonetheless, the responsibilities of the attendant require him/her to know how to perform all the assistance that the man requires whether it be personal care, office assistance, and/or the home. The attendant must be able to assist with transfers of the man and travel with him nationally and internationally. The attendant is essentially the man's arms and legs and works primarily in his shadow, but also companions him often to events both professional and personal. You will be helping him live a life as close as he would live if not for his paralysis. This position requires the learning and knowledge of the individual's private life. Personalities MUST NOT conflict, and privacy is a must. Therefore, please do not seek this position IF you: • Have narcissistic (or more selfish, self-focused) character traits • Draw drama in your life • Are argumentative instead of discussing • Are consumed (even moderately) by your phone/iPad, etc. • Are a pioneer not very accepting of instructions • Have selective hearing • Ignore tasks because you cannot or will not ask someone how to complete a task • Put mail in the flower cabinet • Take advantage of generosity • Are not a self-starter • Procrastinate versus Effectuate • Self-loathing • All those other things we as people shouldn't have to accept to receive assistance. Please be honest (I hope this conveyed the message-- respect this individual and the position.) Quadriplegia is a difficult life to live and manage, and is regulated by many factors. Efficiency when performing tasks is key. In essence, it is on the job training and his schedule must be maintained so it is imperative that attendants learn the responsibilities. But once the attendant learns and has a solid knowledge of the individuals care and lifestyle, the job becomes infinitely easier and better understood. Must have: • CPR (you may apply without CPR, but know that you cannot start working until you have it) • Valid driver's license • Liability insurance for any time spent driving the individual in his vehicles. If you are geographically or navigationally challenged, and/or seriously dislike driving city or highway, then please be funny about it and learn to love-hate it because it is necessary. This is a clean environment: • Personal hygiene of body and clothes • Smoking is prohibited • Universal precautions must always be taken Compensation includes: • Bi-weekly pay with annual merit bonuses • Private room with on-suite bath • Utilities (electric, water, internet) • Unpaid time off with advance notice--schedules will be accommodated as needed. The bi-weekly pay can vary and is directly related to tasks performed, productivity, going over and beyond, taking less time off, etc. Pay is entirely commensurate with productivity so efficiency is paramount. Bi-weekly pay may range from $500 to $2,000 (Gross USD) depending on an agreed schedule. (We cannot forget that it's always a perk to work for a lawyer.) Reply with: • How soon you can work • If you have you ever worked and/or performed personal care/assistance • If you have worked with, assisted or cared for any disabled persons No experience is okay so long as you are: • Keen to detail • Quick learner • Organized • Have common sense • Care about individual’s needs • Work efficiently and steady P.S., If anything in this description appeared odd, then just understand that he has experienced some eccentric--to put it mildly--individuals. He has a wicked sense of humor and loves a laugh. Single, paralyzed man with no children needing dedicated, loyal, hard-working, kind, genuine, caring, and loving individuals to assist him in every day activities. He works 60+ hrs a week in his law practice, public speaking, ranch, and loves life! He, unfortunately, needs help living. Paralysis is simple to understand; all works/functions like usual, but he simply cannot control it. He'll help you achieve your goals so long as you help him achieve his.

Required Experience

Must have <1 years paid experience with the following
Shopping & Errands Transportation Event/Travel Planning
Kitchen Assistance Pet Care Administrative Support
Vacation Assistance Light Housekeeping Photo Editing

Software & Technical Proficiency

Just learning 1 Knows the basics 2 About average 3 Better than most 4 Expert 5
Microsoft PowerPoint
Blog software
Microsoft Excel
Web design software
Microsoft Word

1 = Just Learning, 2 = Knows the basics, 3 = About average, 4 = Better than most, 5 = Expert


Available Jan 2022 - Feb 2022
Seeking Full-time, Live In
Last logged in 11 Jan 2022
Member since 19 Nov 2012

Match Preferences

We require:
Female or Male candidates
<1 yrs paid experience required
Candidates that live within my country
Valid drivers license
Spoken English is required
We prefer:
No Age Preference
No preference years of education
No couples
We speak:
Special care:
Disabled care

Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Babysitter from Manila

Emelie F., 3191880

Living in: Philippines

Available: Jan 22 - Jan 22


Nanny Job in Dubai

Asma R., 3192161

Job Location: Dubayy, United Arab Emirates

Job starts: Jan 22 - Feb 22

Position is: Live-in, 50 Hrs/week

Dear Candidate, We are seeking a travel/holiday nanny who can care for 3 children i...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.