GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
N/A 0 0

Tutor in Penang, Malaysia, Seeks Tutor Job.SHANTHI's Tutor Profile 3009194

Profile Photos (2) Videos (2) Reports (0) Interview Documents (16) Sent Messages Notes

expert handling children with special need & others

    Personal

  • 57-year old female
  • Malaysian
  • Living in Malaysia
  • Has a passport for Malaysia
  • Has no visa
  • 4' 10" or 147 Centimeters
  • 155 Lbs or 70 Kgs

    Qualifications

  • 10+ Years of paid experience
  • 20 or more years of education
  • Valid driver's license
  • Will use own car for work
  • References available

Contact SHANTHI R.

Register now to get these free features:

  • candidate Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact candidates directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Introduction

Profile A confident, multilingual and experienced Early Years Practitioner and completed UK Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Studies. Now very keen to join an international school or to a private family that offers growth and support and in return, transferring skills, knowledge and expertise towards teaching early year’s primary education.

Education/Qualification

2013- 2016 Masters in Early Childhood. Cambridge/Chelmsford, United Kingdom.

2000Counselling Course conducted by The National Cancer Society of Malaysia.

1997-1998 Post Graduate Diploma in Special Education for Persons with Multiple (Physical and Neurological)- Awarded by “The Spastic Society of India”.Kottorpuram, Chennai. India.

1991 Hertfordshire College of HealthCare Studies DC2 Version of the UKCC Entrance Test. St Albans, United Kingdom.

1981 General Certificate of Education (Malaysia)

Teaching Experience

International Primary School, Penang March 2015 till Present.

Tuition Center Position Held: English Teacher Level One-Level Three April 2014 until Present

I teach a group of students under the age of 5 to 9 years old and conduct weekly classes. The lesson plan for the group is as follows: 1oup discussion 2.spelling 3say writing 4ntences and phonic reading.

The Cerebral Palsy (Spastic) Children’s Association of Penang 1992 -2013 Various positions held

Head of Department in the Primary Section April 2009 - Jan 31st2013

• Responsible for the special class in the primary section consisting of 30 students and 10 staff. • Preparation of lesson plans based on Malaysian Integrated Curriculum for the Primary School. • Periodically, organise and conduct meetings with the staff, volunteers, parents and caregivers. • Planning events annual sports, outings and coordinate school concerts and assembly. • Coordinate the music and movement therapy at University Sains Malaysia. • Supporting students to become independent skills such as social, communication and activities on daily living. • Work with a team of teachers and therapists to produce custom design tools and furniture to suit individual’s special needs. • Work closely with the physiotherapist and occupational therapist for the holistic development of our children. • Organize outdoor and indoor activities such as camping, games and hydrotherapy sessions. Assistant Therapist to Occupational Therapist March 2004 – March 2009 • Mainly involved with Sensory Integration Programme. • Assisted the therapist to set up a sensory integration unit in the department • Assessed students on sensory related matters and treating students with tactile defensive issues. • Provided treatment for children with visual impairment in the Snoezelen unit. • Prepared annual progress reports of the students for parents. In Charge of Occupational Therapy Unit Mid 1998-February 2004 • Involved in Medical and Team assessment with Paediatrician, Physiotherapist, Speech Therapist, Parents/Caregivers and Social Worker. • Assisted therapists to custom design writing tools, feeding utensils and furniture for posture seating. • Provide Self Help Skills – Grooming, Primary Care education for parents, caregivers and volunteers. • Training new staff for the job on board. • Trained Students to participate in BOCCIA at the 2002 Paralympics.

Teacher August 1992 – May1997

• Teaching children ages 4 to 9 years with the following approaches and methods. • Learning through expressive art and music. • Phonics on flash cards and computer. • Fine and gross motor skills. • Conducted playgroup activities for Early Intervention Group • classroom behaviour management

Relevant Voluntary Experience in UK

Kids Inspire, Chelmsford. July 2014 • Music and Movement. • Participated with children in indoor games. • Assisted during snack and lunchtime.

Columbus School and College, Chelmsford. July 2014 • Be with the early years in a playground. • Observed the sensory room. • Accompanied students to the assembly. • Observed children in outdoor camping activities.

Tyrell’s Primary School, Chelmsford. July 2014 • Observed puppet show in reception class. • Assistance given to the class teacher.

At present, I am working alongside with a student with high intelligence with autism in Year 5. I give my best support and provide assistance in the international school for the student to produce the best of his potential ability to function in school community among the other students and professionals.

I have a family and live with my husband and a daughter who is 13 years of age.We keep very close touch with our family members. By religion we are Hindus and we participate in our cultural events and celebrationse best of best interest of mine at the moment is dancing and meditation.I do attend dancing once in a week which goes along with my daily routine walk.I enjoy my weekly dancing group and it brings my moments with joy and fun with music.

Tutor Experience

I have 10 years paid experience with the following
Arts & Music Business Computers
Engineering English, Reading & Writing Foreign Language
Math Social Studies Special Education
Science Test Preparation
I am experienced working with these types of special needs
ADD/ADHD Asthma Asperger Syndrome/Autism
Behavioral Issues Down Syndrome Epilepsy
Dyslexia Hearing Impairment Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Tourette Syndrome Visual Impairment
I have the following skills or certifications
Behavioral Issues CPR First Aid
Special Needs American Tutoring Association National Tutoring Association

I am comfortable working with 2 students

Specialties by Subject

English, Reading & Writing - from grades Pre-K to 4
English ESL Grammar
Language Arts K-6 Literature Phonics
Public Speaking Reading Reading Adult
Writing
Math - from grades Pre-K to 6
Algebra 1 Algebra 2 Calculus
Differential Equations Elementary School Math Geometry
Integrated Math Linear Algebra Logic
Middle School Math Pre-Calculus Probability
Statistics Trigonometry
Special Education - from grades Pre-K to 5
ADD/ADHD Dyslexia Emotional Behavior
General Hearing Impaired Learning Disabled
Mildly Handicapped Sign Language Speech Pathology

Tutor Requirements

I am fluent in the following languages: Bahasa Malaysia, English, Tamil

I am available to teach the following types of lessons
Group Tutoring Private Tutoring
I am available to teach in the following locations
At Student's School In a Center In Student's Home
Online Tutor's Home
Additional Tutor tasks that I am able to perform
Moderate Sample Exams Sign Language Transportation

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Nov 2020 - Dec 2020
Seeking Full-time, Live Out
$501-$1000/wk
Lasted logged in 05 Nov 2020
Member since 13 Jun 2018
Lifestyle
Excellent health
Non-smoker
No red meat
Hinduism
No tattoos
No piercings
Languages
Bahasa Malaysia
English
Tamil

Match Preferences

Will not work for smokers
Willing to travel 10 miles or 16 KM for work
Preferred Countries:
  • - United Kingdom
Preferred Cities:
  • - Penang
  • - London
Preferred Nationalities:
  • None

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair Job in Cary

Dana D., 3018209

Job Location: NC, United States

Job starts: Dec 20 - Jan 21

Position is: Live-in, 35 Hrs/week

...

Nanny Job in Singapore

Gauthier M., 3009249

Job Location: Singapore, Singapore

Job starts: Dec 20 - Dec 20

Position is: Live-in

Hi, We are a French family with 2 children, 2 and 4 years old and we leave in a lan...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

CLOSE X