GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
100% 0 0

Tutor in Montego Bay, Jamaica, Seeks Tutor Job.Suan's Tutor Profile 2867792

Profile Photos (16) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Over twenty years' experience in tutoring.

    Personal

  • 53-year old female
  • Jamaican
  • Living in Jamaica
  • Has a passport for Jamaica
  • Has no visa
  • 5' 3" or 160 Centimeters
  • 135 Lbs or 61 Kgs
  • Married

    Qualifications

  • 10+ Years of paid experience
  • 17-19 years of education
  • Infant care qualified
  • First-aid trained
  • No driver's license
  • References available

Contact Suan S.

Register now to get these free features:

  • candidate Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact candidates directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Introduction

Hi, I am a registered and certified teacher with over twenty years' experience. I am an adaptable and resourceful teacher who is success-driven and goal oriented. I am ITC literate and I have worked in the following capacities with major success and efficiency: ESL teacher, remedial reading teacher, SEN teacher, class teacher for grades 1-6 and teacher librarian (HOD). I am proficient in developing and implementing student/subject specific curricula, Individual Educational Plans(I.E), daily/weekly lesson plans and activities. In addition, I have expertise in developing and implementing standardized tests, and I am efficient in the analyzing and documentation of data. I have successfully launched, directed, and managed remedial reading programs for both children and adults. In addition to reading sessions, I have organized evening classes in all subjects at the primary level. -:DETAILED PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE:- REMEDIATION and SPECIAL EDUCATION NEEDS: • Over 20 years of experience teaching special needs students. • Experienced in use of the internet and multimedia technology as a means of enhancing the learning experience. • Developed and implemented student- specific programs for remediation and SEN. • Developed and implemented summer programs for remedial readers (aged 6-12 years old) • Organized adult literacy classes as a part of community outreach programs • Hosted summer classes to prepare non- readers for the grade one program (5-year- olds). • Hosted workshops aimed at guiding teachers in teaching reading. TEACHER LIBRARIAN: • Over 15 years of experience as teacher librarian at both the primary and secondary school levels. • Head of library department • Developed and implemented library skills curriculums suited for grades one to ten. • Research educational resources and assist with information retrieval as required by class teachers and students. • Performed clerical duties such as classification of stock using the Dewey Decimal System, cataloging and stock updating • responsible for maintenance and repair • responsible for charging and retrieval of books to staff and students • Responsible for upkeep and ambiance of library CLASSROOM TEACHER: • Twenty years of experience as a classroom teacher of grades one through to six • Prepared and implemented student specific Action Plans and lesson plans from various curricula such as,The Abeka Program,Haughton and Mifflin, Silver Burdett and Guinn, Zanner-Bloser Connections, Cambridge National Primary Curriculum, Scholastic and the Jamaica Curricula for Primary Schools •Implemented technological approaches to subject material • Experienced in creating attractive subject/interest based learning centers and activities. Other Duties/Experiences: • Substitute classroom teacher of grades one through to six • Class teacher for special education students (gifted and challenged) in groups of 25 or less • Invigilate and mark school-base exam papers during term exams and mock exams • Assist in marking Grade 3 Communication Task papers for the national exam • Assist with training students for Spelling Bee • Tutor for non-English speakers SEN and gifted students using varied programs eg. Calvert international home-school curriculum, Abeka home-schooling program, Brillkids, Glen Doman programs, Jolly Phonics, "Starfall Home School" curriculum and others It will be my pleasure to serve in any of the above capacities in any country around the world. I am also willing to learn new skills and languages to accommodate your needs. I know basic Spanish and is able to teach the starter course with the help of books, videos and CDs but is not a fluent speaker. If you are interested let's talk soon.

Tutor Experience

I have 10 years paid experience with the following
Arts & Music Business Computers
Engineering English, Reading & Writing Foreign Language
Math Social Studies Special Education
Science Test Preparation
I am experienced working with these types of special needs
ADD/ADHD Asthma Asperger Syndrome/Autism
Behavioral Issues Down Syndrome Epilepsy
Dyslexia Hearing Impairment Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Tourette Syndrome Visual Impairment
I have the following skills or certifications
Behavioral Issues CPR First Aid
Special Needs American Tutoring Association National Tutoring Association

I am comfortable working with 6 students

Specialties by Subject

Arts & Music - from grades Pre-K to 9
Drama Guitar Music
Piano Art
Computers - from grades Pre-K to 9
Basic C C++
COBOL Computer Basics Computer Science
DBase Desktop Publishing DOS
FLASH Information Systems Internet Site
JAVA Linux Macintosh
MATLAB Microsoft Access Microsoft Certification MCSA
Microsoft Excel Microsoft Office Microsoft PowerPoint
Microsoft Windows Microsoft Word Oracle
Outlook Pascal Perl
Photoshop Programming SAS
SPSS SQL Unix
VB.NET Visual Basic
English, Reading & Writing - from grades Pre-K to 9
English ESL Grammar
Language Arts K-6 Literature Phonics
Public Speaking Reading Reading Adult
Writing
Math - from grades Pre-K to 9
Algebra 1 Algebra 2 Calculus
Differential Equations Elementary School Math Geometry
Integrated Math Linear Algebra Logic
Middle School Math Pre-Calculus Probability
Statistics Trigonometry
Science - from grades Pre-K to 9
Agriculture Anatomy Biochemistry
Biology Botany Chemistry
Earth Science Ecology Elementary Science
Environment Genetics Horticulture
Life Science Marine Biology Meteorology
Microbiology Middle School Nutrition
Organic Chemistry Psychology Physics
Physiology
Social Studies - from grades 1 to 6
Elementary Social Studies Geography Government
History Political Science Sociology
Special Education - from grades 1 to 9
ADD/ADHD Dyslexia Emotional Behavior
General Hearing Impaired Learning Disabled
Mildly Handicapped Sign Language Speech Pathology
Test Preparation - from grades Pre-K to 6
3rd Grade SOL 5th Grade SOL ACT
Adv. History ASVAB Civil Service
CLAST Math Elem. Standard Testing GED
GMAT GRE HSPT/COOP
IGAP-ISAT ISEE LSAT
MCAT Middle School SOL Nursing Exam
Praxis Private School Entrance PSAT Test
SAT Math SAT Verbal SSAT
TAAS Test TASP Teachers Exam
TESOL TOEFL

Tutor Requirements

I am fluent in the following language: English

I am available to teach the following types of lessons
Group Tutoring Private Tutoring
I am available to teach in the following locations
At Student's School In a Center In Student's Home
Online Tutor's Home
Additional Tutor tasks that I am able to perform
Moderate Sample Exams Sign Language Transportation

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Jan 2020 - Feb 2020
Seeking Full- or Part-time, Live In
Negotiable/wk
Lasted logged in 02 Jan 2020
Member since 14 Mar 2015
Lifestyle
Excellent health
Non-smoker
Other
Pentecostal
No tattoos
No piercings
Languages
English

Match Preferences

Will not work for smokers
Comfortable with pets
Single parents OK
Willing to travel worldwide for work
Preferred Countries:
  • None
Preferred Cities:
  • None
Preferred Nationalities:
  • None

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from Bulawayo

Nompumelelo S., 2876743

Living in: Zimbabwe

Available: Jan 20 - Dec 21

Preferred cities: Cape Town

Dear family My name is Nompumelelo . I come from the second largest city in Zimbabw...

Au Pair Job in Sydney

Barb S., 2874459

Job Location: New South Wales, Australia

Job starts: Jan 20 - Feb 21

Position is: Live-in, 40 Hrs/week

Kate 6, Charlie 8, and Nick 10, and I are an outgoing, busy clan that also enjoys re...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

CLOSE X