GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
91% 265 0

Au Pair Job Available with Australian Family in Sydney, AustraliaJennifer's Au Pair Job 2842859

Profile Photos (1) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

We have hired an au pair already.

    Our Family

  • Australian
  • 30-something
  • 2 Children
  • Ages 0 and 3
  • No pets
  • No Religion
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is not a single employer

    Job Highlights

  • 0yrs experience required
  • 40 to 45 hours/week
  • Infant care required
  • References available
  • Pay is $401-$500/wk

Contact Jennifer W.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Family's Introduction to Au Pair

We are a family of 4. Glen (40) from New Zealand, Jenny (37) from Australia and our lovely two girls, the fun, outspoken, rule abiding - Taika (3.5) and our newborn Aya who has recently come into the world (3 weeks as of writing this post). Glen and I have always travelled a lot around the world for work and fun and have continued to do so with our older daughter and now with our newborn. We are professionals who have our own businesses most of the time, but are planning to do a bit less work and spend some more time travelling and with the kids until Christmas this year (2022). When Taika was born we spent 4 months travelling around Alaska, so now Aya is born, she gets a 4 month trip travelling around Chile/Patagonia! A little bit about Taika - She loves playing dollies (dressing, looking after ‘babies), lots of creating worlds and family play with toys/play, role play/imaginative stuff like doctors / tea sets etc, books, swings and singing. She is pretty assertive and will tell you what she wants, she is an extrovert, a fast learner, and loves playing with others, but can play by herself too. Taika is toilet trained, can put on and take of her clothes/shoes, and get herself snacks (although she will often ask for help because she wants to play ha!). A little bit about Aya - She is pretty small and wonderful at the moment. She breastfeeds every 2-3 hours, is very alert when she is awake, and just like any newborn sleeps a bunch. Glen and I will look after her at night, so you don’t need to be worried about that. Although it would be great to have help changing her nappy, playing with her, getting her to sleep in the day, looking after her outside of feed times etc. We haven’t had an Aupair before but have had different short term nannies for Taika while we have been travelling. We are looking for an Aupair to have something more ‘stable and trustworthy’ for the kids while we travel (ie not changing nannies every 2 weeks), someone who can support in a range of duties and times to ‘streamline’ travel (ie get kids up, or dressed or fed, laundry etc) rather than for 3 hours a day for example, and to have someone who feels more like one of the family for the kids - like an older sister to care for them. We travel a lot as a family so there isn’t much or a ‘normal’ weekend or week. But a few general things about the way our household works…. I do most of the cooking and organising kids, feeding Aya etc. Glen does a lot of cleaning, will look after the car/travel, organising lots of things to make our life easier. We both do a bit of work online. We like going to cafes, like going on beautiful walks/drives in nice places, reading/podcasts (where there is time), seeing and doing interesting things (a temple, some mountains, wildlife, boat rides etc - whatever there is to do in a place, but we are also pretty relaxed. I need to get some sleep (ie I’m waking up a bunch at night to feed) and we both like to have some ‘downtime’, so a mix of doing fun things, playing with kids, and getting some ‘relax’ time in the stay sane. Happy to provide any other useful details about us, the trip or the family!

Job Description

Note - we have found an au pair now….e trip will evolve as we go (as the best ones do!) but the current general plan is to fly to Santiago, spend a 2-3 weeks there finding a vehicle (likely a big 4 wheel drive for all 5 of us!) and anything else we might need there. Then fly to Montevideo (Uruguay) to check it out for a week, over to Buenos Aires (Argentina) for a week or so, drive across to Santiago (Chile) stopping at fun places on the way. And then the fun bit of spending a few months driving and ferrying down to Ushuaia (ie the bottom point of South America). We want to spend some time in Patagonia and the beautiful mountainous / fjord regions of South America. We are hoping the trip includes stunning scenery, walks, drives, boat rides in one of the most stunning areas of the world (a family trip of a lifetime!). We will book most stuff as we go so we aren’t overly stretched or stressed, but likely some stuff will need to be booked in advance to ensure we get tickets. We will stay between airbnbs (where there are nice ones) and hotels (when useful) - wherever we stay you will have your own room. Dates: We will pay for your plane flight to Santiago to meet us between August 5th and 30th 2022. Trip finishes end of November (we need to be back in New Zealand by December 1st for family Christmas fun) so wherever we are by then we can fly you home if that’s what you want. We are looking for someone who is easy going to fit into our family, and who loves playing with and teaching young children (like a little girl of 3) and is comfortable and happy to look after a newborn (Aya who you will meet when she is around 2 months old). We are all pretty positive / flexible people, so are looking for someone similar. Someone who will care for and love our children and also be responsible for them and keep them safe. Helpfulness, proactivity, reliability and a very high sense of responsibility are all important. Experience in child care is an advantage, but not mandatory. A love of young children is mandatory ;). You have to speak fluent English (it is the only language Jenny, Taika and Aya speak) and it would be an advantage to speak some or fluent Spanish, although not a must (Glen speaks passable spanish for when it is needed). Other possible useful info: -no smokers -no pets -no need for a drivers license We are just now working out what life looks like as a family of four and need your help with the kids. We imagine that it will be 40 hours a week. Tasks may change depending on what we are doing. So for example: -Glen and I will still be doing some work, so when we are stopped in a place for a week or so we might ask you to look after Taika (and Aya some of the time, although I am breastfeeding) for say 7 hours, 4 days a week so we can do some work (like daycareish). Then maybe a night a week so Glen and I can go out together without the kids. You could have weekends and nights/mornings off. -if we were travelling we would expect you to help looking after the kids in/out of the car (feeding/toileting/playing etc). Help packing and unpacking the car and generally just help looking after the kids while we travel. -And then generally a mish mash of this stuff depending on what the trip looks like. We certainly want you to have a couple of days off a week, nights off etc, so you have your own time. But the main thing is just helping look after the kids when we are stopped and need to do work, ‘babysitting’ them if we want to have time doing things together, and looking after them as we travel to ‘streamline’ things (ie getting them dressed, having fun with them, feeding them etc). -While the most important thing for us at this age is that you provide them love and care and play with them (fun). We would also love someone who can do more stimulating activities with Taika - for example helping her learn numbers, the alphabet, reading, painting, drawing, social skills through playing etc. We don’t need a ‘teacher’ but someone who can help her learn things as they play with her would be fab. Payment - We will pay for all the food/accommodation/flights + a stipend of $400USD a month. Examples of things we would expect you to do with the kids: playing, singing, doing handicraft etc. going for walks / to the playground / doing outdoor activities with the children going with the children to leisure activities supervising the children, dressing and washing them helping with keeping the car/airbnbs tidy and clean preparing meals for the children helping out with tasks related to kids while we travel like laundry, cleaning up toys, packing kids bags, cooking etc Looking after the children in the daytime on specific days and as we travel looking after their travel needs when appropriate. (for Aya) Changing nappies / clothes, putting her down to sleep, bottle feeding her when relevant or bringing her to me for a breast feed, playing basic stuff with her when she is awake

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Aug 2022 - Aug 2022
From 4 - 4 months
Seeking Full-time, Live In
$401-$500/wk
Last logged in 05 Aug 2022
Member since 24 Oct 2019

Seeking Services

Additional services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance

Match Preferences

We require:
0yrs experience required
Candidates that live within worldwide
Infant care
Light housekeeping
We prefer:
Female candidates
No Age Preference
No preference years of education
No couples
We speak:
English



Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Housekeeper Job in Marbella

Manal T., 3243797

Job Location: Andalucia, Spain

Job starts: Oct 19 - Oct 19

Position is: Live-out, 35 Hrs/week

Educated family who believes in Meeting new people is addition to there knowledge we...

Au Pair Job in Negaunee

Julie K., 3242265

Job Location: MI, United States

Job starts: Aug 22 - Aug 22

Position is: Live-in or Live-out, 25 Hrs/week

Our family consists of one active energetic 11 year old girl, who is into ice skatin...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

CLOSE X