GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
99% 4 0

Nanny Job Available with British Family in Stanley, Falkland IslandsRebecca's Nanny Job 1826486

Profile Photos (6) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Nanny needed in the FALKLAND ISLANDS (South Atlantic)

    Our Family

  • British
  • 40-something
  • 4 Children
  • Ages 13, 11, 9, 4
  • Has pets
  • Christian
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is not a single employer

    Job Highlights

  • Female candidates only
  • 1yrs experience required
  • >50 hours/week
  • English is required
  • Driver's license required
  • Car is available
  • References available
  • Pay is $301-$400/wk

Contact Rebecca E.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.

Family's Introduction to Nanny


Nanny needed to come and work in the FALKLAND ISLANDS (South Atlantic) for a full-time doctor/farmer family. We are looking for a kind, caring, helpful person to care for our 4 children, Jessica (current ages 13), Daniel (11) and Oliver (9) and Peter (4).

My children are outgoing, friendly, happy and fun. They enjoy playing outside and going to the swimming pool. They also really enjoy going to the local cafe for ice-creams and cakes! Jessica is keen on art and cooking, and Daniel likes riding his bike and reading. Oliver and Peter are outside whenever they can get out there, usually on the trampoline!

Our day usually starts at about 7am with the children getting up and watching TV for a bit. Then it's breakfast and getting washed and dressed. I will have to leave for work by about 8.15 a.m., which is when our Nanny would start her day, and the children need to get to school for 9am. They come home at lunch, between 12pm and 1.30pm. Then it's back to school for 1.30pm and they need to be collected again at 3.30pm. Peter is at school in the mornings only between 08.45 and 11.45 and will be with you all afternoon. After school and a quick snack, they do their homework and then can watch TV or play outside until supper time. We have supper at about 6pm and then it's bath and bed with lights out no later than 7.30 – 8pm for the boys and 9.30pm for Jessica. I try and get back from work by 6-6.30pm. We always enjoy a book and a song at bedtime to help everyone relax.

Some days of the week there will be an after school club to take one or more of the children to, and then they will need to be collected later.

The children must have fresh fruit and vegetables with lunch and supper, so a knowledge of how to prepare healthy food is essential.

We have a cat on the farm and sheep dogs. Usually the animals stay on our farm on West Falkland, although occasionally one or more animals might end up coming into Stanley. In Stanley we have a dog called Evie, she is a very lovely black Labrador, so dog walking is also an essential part of the job.

Like any young children, they can be boisterous, fight between themselves and push the boundaries, but generally they are pretty good and will behave well if given boundaries that are not broken. I hope to raise kind, polite, confident children who have respect for older people and a clear understanding of wrong and right. I am against any smacking or emotional unkindness towards any child. I WILL NOT CONDONE PHYSICAL OR EMOTIONAL ABUSE AT ALL. Hitting or smacking is not acceptable at all.

I hope that whoever applies to this advert would see themselves as someone who would fit into our happy family. I ask in return that the person will treat us with the same respect and politeness that we will show them.

I understand that the Falklands is a long way from anywhere, so I also ask that if our child-carer is not coping or is unhappy with any of the arrangements we have, that they are honest and open with me about this so we can fix any problems early. Having an unhappy child-carer will most likely mean having unhappy children, and this is exactly what I want to avoid!

I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks again for taking the time to read this.

Job Description


Nanny needed to come and work in the FALKLAND ISLANDS (South Atlantic) for a full-time doctor/farmer family, starting January 2020 for 4 - 12 months, with the option to extend if all parties are willing to do so.

We are looking for a kind, caring, helpful person to care for our 4 children, Jessica (current ages 13), Daniel (11) and Oliver (9) and Peter (4). Jessica, Daniel and Oliver are at full-time school, so there will be school runs to do, and Peter goes to school in the mornings, but will be at home with you in the afternoons. I am a doctor who works full time. My husband owns and manages a big sheep farm on West Falkland. On occasion you will need to travel to the farm to care for the children when they are there. The working hours will be variable and will average approx. 50 hours/week, although there will be some weeks where I am on-call overnight and might be called into the hospital, other weeks will be less busy with me being at home with the children, meaning more time off for a child-carer. There are frequent weeks off throughout the year, as well as long weekends off too.

We need to stress how flexible the working hours are! My job in the hospital is completely unpredictable and I sometimes do not get home in time for bedtime. Other weeks I work from home so am there all day, so there is more time off for our nanny. I will be in Stanley, the capital of the Falklands, working in the hospital, and my husband will be on West Falkland, on our farm. There should be ample opportunities for private time, whether in Stanley or on our farm. The main place for our nanny will be in Stanley, although on occasions our child-carer may need to be out on our sheep farm with the children.

Accommodation will be provided (double bedroom, with private living room, shared bathroom), and all basic living costs will be included (including food, utilities and rent). Salary is £950 per month (starting salary and is negotiable), with NO ADDED CHARGES (this is take home pay after all expenses, including board, lodging and tax deductions etc.) Airfares to and from the Falklands are included at the beginning and end of the contract, as well as a THREE WEEK PAID HOLIDAY BACK TO THE UK/HOME COUNTRY OVER CHRISTMAS, WHICH ALSO INCLUDES PAID RETURN FLIGHTS.

Although we have a weekly cleaner, we hope that some cleaning/housework/shopping will be acceptable, and help with family cooking would be expected, as will help with the children’s homework after school.

Essential skills, requirements and experience include: • First aid certificate in emergency care (ideally including paediatric emergencies) • Previous experience working with children • MUST be able to drive and have a full, clean licence • The candidate must be able to read, write and speak fluent English • Must be a non-smoker • CV’s and reverences will be needed, as will a full criminal records check

Emphasis must be placed on child safety and wellbeing and the happiness of our children.

English is the main language spoken in the Falklands. To understand more about the Falkland Islands, and where we are, have a look at the web pages on line. The Falklands is very remote and isolated, but very beautiful with incredible wildlife and is safe with virtually no crime. This job would suit someone who is keen to travel and take in new places and cultures and who enjoys the outdoor life.

Ideally our nanny will be of British or Commonwealth nationality, but we will consider applications from other countries.

Thanks for taking the time to read this ad!


Available Feb 2020 - Feb 2020
From 4 - 24 months
Seeking Full-time, Live In
Lasted logged in 02 Feb 2020
Member since 02 Apr 2014

Seeking Services

Additional services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance

Match Preferences

We require:
Female candidates only
1yrs experience required
Candidates that live within worldwide
Valid drivers license
Spoken English is required
Infant care qualified
We prefer:
No Age Preference
No preference years of education
No couples
Candidates who are:
  • - American
  • - Australian
  • - British
  • - Canadian
  • - Irish
  • - New Zealander
  • - Scots
  • - Scottish
  • - South African
  • - Welsh
We speak:

Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair Job in Hellerup

Karin J., 2147781

Job Location: Kobenhavn, Denmark

Job starts: Jun 20 - Jul 20

Position is: Live-in, 25 Hrs/week

Dear au pair Since our beloved and current au pair ends her contract in July we are...

Nanny Job in Sydney

Alisia F., 2756429

Job Location: New South Wales, Australia

Job starts: Dec 19 - Dec 19

Position is: Live-in, 50 Hrs/week

Hola, estoy buscando una niñera en vivo. Vivimos en Sydney, Australia. Estoy esper...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.