GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
43% 0 0

Au Pair Job Available with American Family in Bellevue, WAJulie's Au Pair Job 2830288

Profile Photos (10) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Seeking Part Time, Spanish Speaking Nanny or Tutor

    Our Family

  • American
  • 40-something
  • 2 Children
  • Ages 16 and 13
  • Has pets
  • Agnostic
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is not a single employer

    Job Highlights

  • Female candidates only
  • 0yrs experience required
  • 15 to 25 hours/week
  • English and Spanish are required
  • Driver's license required
  • Car is available
  • References available
  • Pay is Negotiable/wk

Contact Julie B.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.

Family's Introduction to Au Pair

Dear Future Nanny, Au Pair, or Tutor,

We are excited you are looking at our profile and made it far enough to read this message. We are a family of four: Alan (60), his wife Julie (34), and Alan's children Ari (16) and Taran (13). We have had 5 past aupairs, one live in Spanish tutor, and two live out Spanish tutor. We have maintained good relationships with most of them, and are happy to provide you with references.

Alan is semi-retired, but does a lot of medical-legal work as an expert trial witness. Julie is an attorney who is currently working towards obtaining her master's in Law Librarianship at the University of Washington. Ari works part time for her dad's paralegal organizing files, and Taran does not yet work. Ari is into Karate, and works out at the gym. She loves reading, animals, and skiing. Taran does hip-hop dance, crew, and yearbook club. Both girls speak fluent Spanish, but they need your help to maintain their language skills, and to improve their vocabulary.

The children spend more than half of their time at their mother's house which is located about 15 minutes away. You may occasionally be asked to pick up or drop off the kids at their mother's house. You will likely not be required to provide any tutoring or childcare at the mother's house. When Alan is out of town, the children usually stay at their mother's house.

Our current home is a little over 4,000 sq ft. Your room is fully furnished, and it is located on the first floor. You have a queen sized bed, a closet, a chest of drawers, a TV, a bedside table, and an en-suite bathroom featuring a walk in shower. You would have complete access to the common areas of the home including the downstairs power room, living room, dining rooms, kitchen, upstairs laundry room, and upstairs recreation room.

Please note that we do have two Siamese cats (one lilac point and one seal point) who do come inside. Philip is the lilac point and he is about 12 years old. Maisie is the seal point and she is about 7 months old, and she lives inside. While Siamese cats are generally better for those with allergies, the cats are not hypoallergenic. Those candidates with cat allergies might have an allergic reaction to the cat. Unfortunately, the ideal candidate cannot bring any outside pets into our home.

The family travels often. Sometimes you may find that you have the home to yourself. We have been known to in the past invite our various nannies, au pairs, and tutors on trips with us. This is often seen as a perk of the job, but travel with the family is not guaranteed. Further, Alan and Julie will often invite you to events and activities, and while we would love you to join us, your participation is not obligatory.

We truly hope to develop a lifelong friendship with the candidate chosen for this position. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to read this message and hope to hear from you soon!


The Family

Job Description

This is a unique opportunity to live in the gorgeous city of Bellevue, Washington. The job is a perfect part time position offering free room and board. A qualified candidate MUST speak fluent Spanish and English, and may of course be a college student seeking an alternative housing arrangement (tutoring / minimal childcare in exchange for room and board).

You would need to be available on Tuesday and Thursday in the late afternoon from about 1530 (3:30 p.m). to 2030 (8:30 p.m.), ready and willing to pick the kids up from school, converse with them in Spanish, drive them to activities, assist with homework, cook dinners if needed, etc. On the weekends, from Saturday afternoon to Sunday evening, you must be willing and able to engage the kids in teenage appropriate activities, assist with homework, and converse with them in Spanish.

Other aspects of the job include keeping your room clean, and keeping the common areas of the home tidy. We do have a cleaning crew that comes biweekly and they will clean your room twice a month. You must be a non-smoker, with a healthy lifestyle.

This is a non-traditional job where you are compensated with free room and board (all meals, snacks, and beverages, within reason).


Due to our past experiences with various au pair agencies, we refuse to work with them. We feel that, on the whole, these agencies prey upon young foreigners and fail to adequately screen host families and monitor the well-being of the Au Pair in that chosen host family. We often heard stories of Au Pairs being overworked, underpaid, living in less than ideal housing, etc. We simply cannot support these agencies by hiring any nanny, Au Pair, or tutor through such an agency. If you are working with an agency, but are willing to consider finding a host family independently, then we would be happy to speak with you.


Available Sep 2020 - Oct 2020
From 6 - 48 months
Seeking Part-time, Live In
Lasted logged in 10 Dec 2019
Member since 15 Sep 2019

Seeking Services

Additional services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance

Match Preferences

We require:
Female candidates only
0yrs experience required
Candidates that live within my country
Valid drivers license
Spoken English, Spanish is required
We prefer:
No Age Preference
No preference years of education
No couples
Candidates who are:
  • - American
  • - Mexican
  • - South American
  • - Spanish
We speak:

Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from Tampa

Lindsey M., 2984886

Living in: United States

Available: Oct 20 - Sep 21

Preferred cities: Tampa


Nanny from Fairlawn

Anne M., 2983124

Living in: United States

Available: Sep 20 - Aug 22

Video biography on site. I’ve been nannying for over 20 years. I’m a modern day Ali...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.