GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.



Register Now or Sign in

Senior Caregiver Job Available with Dutch Family in Amsterdam

Back to messages


Remaining characters available: 4500. Close

Profile Photos (22) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Referrals (0)

Care au pair wanted in Amsterdam

Our Family
Age 60
No pets
Will accept smokers
Is a single male employer
Job Highlights
Female candidates only
1 yrs paid experience required
25 to 30 hours/week
English is required
References available
Pay is $101-$200/wk

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.

Job Description

Hello there,

I am Ed, 60 years old, although I am rather young by heart for my age. I'm looking for a care au pair, preferably for half a year or more (if we both are happy the way it goes) to help me here in Amsterdam. But minimum stay is for three months (grooving someone in properly takes quite some time and energy). Starting in beginning of Sept 2017. Stay here to see how it goes, get the feeling of it, the house and the city, and get worked in by our present care au pair.

I like the win win situation of having an au pair in the house. I am being greatly helped with my self supportiveness, and on the other hand we offer a great learning experience and an opportunity to live in this multicultural vibrant city. It is a cultural exchange, which makes this set up interesting.

I had a stroke in 2011, I was fully paralyzed, have been in a hospital and rehab center for a while and now, am still in a wheelchair but doing much better, working at full recovery still from home.

A 'click' is the most important thing, not previous experience. Everything can be learned. I'm looking for three qualities in a person, preferably a female care taker: managing the household, physical caretaking and good companionship.

I am already working - care and exercising - for years with a team of local caretakers, but it is simply not feasible to plan all the help I need during the week. So the idea of a live-in care au pair was born out of this need. And this has been working now for 2,5 years really well. We have had about 5 au pairs in those years.

As care au pair you will be the manager of the household (making sure we have necessary stocks, shopping, supervising everything runs well, making sure that chores are done by you or other caretakers) and you will be my main communication buddy in the house. I like to chat about many things (I'm interested in many things).

Our household is very open and positive and communicative and it is your house as well for the duration of your stay. I am therefore looking for an outgoing person, not somebody who is shy and withdrawn, and foremost stays in her room. The atmosphere is very open, unserious, lighthearted, we have lots of fun.

I like to go to the cinema, cook, love freaky modern art, generally go out, take care of plants, write frequently these days in my blog. This we do in the weekends (going to the movies, going out to festivals). During the week more time is spent on exercises, cooking and plants. The care au pairs we had brought me to bed Wednesday-Sunday (or five other nights), shared dinner then, and did the morning care once a week (showering, dressing, etc.). She was a sparring partner for me throughout the week when in the house, as well as a manager of the household and she did/organized nice outings in the weekend. So somebody needs to be full of initiative, not shy or withdrawn, likeable and easy with people. Our last care au pair was off two days a week, but when everything in the house was running fine, she had a lot more time off. Sometimes in the night, she had to readjust my pillows. It's really intended as a part time job. Our last care au pair ran her own company simultaneously, both jobs went really well.

We offer a monthly fee, separate room, free room and board, interesting surroundings, help. My appartment is situated very close to the city centre, everything in cycling or walking distance, next to a park and canals.

Care au pair must be female, EU citizen (we don't want to get into arranging visas), fluent in English (or Dutch), lighthearted, communicative, interested in many things.

In order to get the best possible impression for both sides, we first will meet in a video- or (if feasible) face-to-face interview, and really do a trial period of 1 month, etc.

Hope to hear from you soon. And if you have any questions feel free to ask me.

Kind regards, Ed

Click to see more

Required Experience

Must have 1 years paid experience with the following

Case Worker Certified Nursing Assistant Licensed RN
Nursing Intern Nursing Student Physical Therapy
Physician's Assistant Practicing RN Senior Care Companion

Must be experienced working with these types of special needs

Alzheimer's Arthritis Dementia
Diabetes Digestive Disorders Epilepsy
Hearing Impairment Immobility Obesity
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Parkinson's Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Respiratory Issues Sleep Disorder Visual Impairment

Provider must have the following skills or certifications

Behavioral Issues Bonded CPR
First Aid Insured Licensed
NAPGGM Certified NACCM Certified

Must be comfortable working with 1 person


Must be available for the following types of visits

Drop-Ins Day Visits Extended Stays
Overnight Stays Travel

Must provide the following Senior Caregiver services

Companion Services Home Care Services Hospice Services
Live in Home Care Medical Care Rehabilitation Services
Physical Therapy Respite Care Visiting Nurse
Visiting Physician Transportation

Additional tasks I would like my Senior Caregiver to perform

Administer Shots Bathing Change Adult Diapers
Light House Cleaning Meal Preparation Pay Bills
Run Errands Shopping Administer Medication

Availability Schedule

Morning X X
Afternoon X X X X
Evening X X X X X
Job Availability
Sep 2017 - Sep 2017
Seeking Live In
Must be available on short notice

Employer Stats

Weekly Pay $101-$200 Response Rate19%
Last Login24 Jul 2017 Complaints0
Member Since27 Aug 2014 Favorite Adds25/30-days
We Require
Female candidates only
1 yrs paid experience required
Candidates that live within EU countries
Spoken English is required
We Prefer
No Age Preference
No preference years of education
Candidates who are:
  • - EU Nationalities
  •   - Austrian
  •   - Belgian
  •   - Danish
  •   - Dutch
  •   - British
  •   - Finnish
  •   - French
  •   - German
  •   - Italian
  •   - Norwegian
  •   - Portuguese
  •   - Spanish
  •   - Swedish
  •   - Swiss
  •   - Icelandic
  •   - Polish
  •   - Romanian
  •   - Luxembourgian
  •   - Bulgarian
  •   - Estonian
  •   - Greek
  •   - Hungarian
  •   - Irish
  •   - Lithuanian
  •   - Slovakian
  •   - Czech
  •   - Slovenian
  •   - Latvian
  •   - Maltese
  •   - Croatian
  •   - Cypriot
  •   - Monegasque
We Speak

Childcare Services

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from Manlius

kathleen T., 2487904

Currently living in: United States

Available to work: Jul 17 - Aug 17

Preferred cities: Edinburgh,London

Dear Family, My name is Kathleen but everybody calls me Kitty. I am 19 years old, w...

Nanny Job in Tournefeuille

marcella p., 2467249

Job Location: Midi-Pyrenees, France

Job starts: Jul 17 - Sep 17

Position is: Live-in, 25 Hrs/week

Dear Candidate, thank you for your interest and looking into a job within our famil...

Showcase your profile