GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.
19% 11 0

Au Pair Job Available with Other Family in Kempston, United KingdomHans's Au Pair Job 2485192

Profile Photos (17) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Documents (0) Sent Messages Notes

Immediate Au Pair for boy aged 14. Flexibility a must.

    Our Family

  • Other
  • 50-something
  • 1 Child
  • Age 14
  • Has pets
  • Other
  • Will not accept smokers
  • Is a single male employer

    Job Highlights

  • 0yrs experience required
  • 10 to 15 hours/week
  • Pay is $101-$200/wk

Contact Hans M.

Register now to get these free features:

  • employer Emails
  • Instant FastMatch
  • Live Support
  • Pre-screened Profiles
  • Anti-Fraud System
  • Assured Privacy
Sign up for free

Why sign up for free? We've helped over 2,000,000 people find the right match. We can help you, too! Read our 5,000 customer reviews to see what people say about us. Subscribe to contact employers directly.

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Family's Introduction to Au Pair

Welcome to our family. The three of us, myself, my 14 year old son and the cat, live in a villa just outside Bedford. Our estate is to the west, along the river Great Ouse. Bedford is an old town with a history well over a thousand years back, whereas Kempston where we live, has grown together with Bedford. Kempston is not quite as old, but is mentioned in the eleventh century Domesday Book. It was known as the largest village in England before it became a town. Particularly in Bedford, some old Medieval and Tudor buildings remain, however, the area has grown a lot in the last decade or two and modern buildings prevail. Famous Bedfordians? John Bunyan; author of The Pilgrim's Progress, Harold Maurice Abrahams CBE; Olympic champion in 1924 in the 100 metres sprint, a feat depicted in the 1981 movie Chariots of Fire and Bishop Trevor Huddleston; a strong advocate in the anti-apartheid movement.
Culturally the area is very diverse with large population of Italian ancestry, but also Indian, Polish/eastern European, West Indian, southern Europe and Africa. There are several free options for you improve your English. There are classes both at the University of Bedford and Bedford College, groups such as the Bedford Language Centre and by joining various council run courses.
For sports and leisure there is a gym and pool 5 min away by bicycle. Most sports are available locally including sailing and surfing on nearby lakes, water skiing, jogging along the river, several rowing and kayaking clubs and road/mountain biking in the country side. Cinemas, a concert hall and a theater is also here together with the usual bars and restaurants. During the summer months Bedford hosts a variety of festivals such as the Proms and the Bedford River Festival.
Communications are very good. The bus stop 2 minutes from the house takes you to central Bedford in one direction or as far as Milton Keynes in the other. From Bedford train station (10 min by bike, 15 min. by bus, 25-30 min. walk); central London is only 30 minutes away. Both London Luton Airport and Gatwick Airport are on this line making traveling very easy. Buses go to most cities through National Express and Cambridge/Milton Keynes/Oxford on the X5 bus.
Additionally there are a variety of stores including Sainsbury supermarket, banks, (small) library and the main Bedfordshire Hospital within a 10-20 minutes walk.
Our house is a very typical UK detached villa built in the eighties. My sons school is a 20 minute bus ride from the nearby bus stop (or 10 min cycle/ 25min walk). He starts school at 08:45 and finish at 15:15. A few days a week he does after school club which lasts 1 hour.
He has does Multi sports 2 hours a week, Parkour 1 hour a week and attends Scouts for 2 hours in the evening once a week. I have some involvement too in the scouts and attend the group executive meeting once a month.
I have been caring for my son for the last four years, but I'm now resumed my position at an Airline based in Luton and that is why I need your help. Although as Flight Crew my schedule is very varied and can change at very short notice, it does mean that I have slightly more days off than the 'normal' 5/2 week. Briefly I work 5 days with very early morning reports (for duty) followed by 3 days off, then 5 days of late morning/afternoon/evening reports that finish late/very late and then followed by 4 days off. So almost like a 4/3 week. The duties vary from a few hours to 14 hours (or more in unforeseen cases), but I very rarely have to stay away overnight. I do also have some days as standby/spare crew that can be called upon if needed, hence may stay home all day or be called to report at short notice. As I'm returning to work, this will different for a few weeks until the course is completed in the beginning of July. During June I'll be away for 4-5 days, followed by 2-4 days off.
The third member of the family is Grey (Arthur) the Cat, therefore it is essential that you are a cat and animal lover. He is getting older and is very friendly and docile.

Job Description

PLEASE NOTE:
Due to UK immigration regulations I seek an au pair girl, 18 - 30 years, from the EU witn (pre-) settled status, Irish, on Youth Mobility visa or studying on a student visa at a nearby University (ie Bedford or Cranfield).
5-6 weeks paid holiday in July and August.
My son turns 15 years old in late Autumn, hence he is becoming more and more independent. Generally, I will need you to make sure that he is safe when I am at work. We will share the duties of making sure that he has woken up, had breakfast and is ready for school after school activities.
I expect that we will share duties such as preparing meals, general cleaning and tidying up.
Generally, I need you to fill in for me when I am at work. That also mean that you should have a fair bit of time for yourself and days off when I am on days off. That should able you to take English classes, join groups and do some traveling should you wish so. You are of course welcome to come on trips and outings, seeing friends or any other activities should you wish.
I propose pocket money at the highest end of UK government recommendation and to include bus-pass, local gym membership (if you wish), rail discount card (Network Railcard etc.), bicycle for your use and anything else that is normal family perks. You will probably spend 15-25 hours a week doing Au-Pair duties, depending on my work schedule. Most weeks should be well less than 25 hours.
Discount travel with my airline will take you to Scotland, Northern Ireland or Europe should you wish to take a quick break on your days off.
You'll have around 5 weeks holiday whilst my son is abroad (July/Aug).
You will have your own room. We have one main bathroom (downstairs toilet being refurbished). We have WIFI, Virgin Media and Amazon Prime cable TV and I will include you on my Family Spotify should you wish.
Please do contact if you want something clarified or have any suggestions.

Availability

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Available Feb 2023 - Mar 2023
From 1 - 4 months
Seeking Full-time, Live In
$101-$200/wk
Last logged in 11 Jan 2023
Member since 08 Jul 2017

Seeking Services

Additional services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance

Match Preferences

We require:
0yrs experience required
Candidates that live within worldwide
We prefer:
Female candidates
23-27 year olds
No preference years of education
Couples accepted
Candidates who are:
  • - Australian
  • - Canadian
  • - Eastern European
  • - EU Nationalities
  •    - Austrian
  •    - Belgian
  •    - Danish
  •    - Dutch
  •    - Finnish
  •    - French
  •    - German
  •    - Italian
  •    - Norwegian
  •    - Portuguese
  •    - Spanish
  •    - Swedish
  •    - Swiss
  •    - Icelandic
  •    - Polish
  •    - Romanian
  •    - Luxembourgian
  •    - Bulgarian
  •    - Estonian
  •    - Greek
  •    - Hungarian
  •    - Irish
  •    - Lithuanian
  •    - Slovakian
  •    - Czech
  •    - Slovenian
  •    - Latvian
  •    - Maltese
  •    - Croatian
  •    - Cypriot
  •    - Monegasque
  • - Japanese
  • - Korean
  • - Macedonian
  • - Moldavian
  • - New Zealander
  • - Serbian
  • - Shenghen
  • - Taiwanese
  • - Vietnamese
We speak:
Danish
English
German
Norwegian
Swedish



Childcare Services

Share Profile

Premium Showcase

Nanny Job in Mililani

Carrie W., 3298149

Job Location: HI, United States

Job starts: Feb 23 - Jun 23

Position is: Live-in, 30 Hrs/week

Dear Live-In Nanny Candidate, Aloha! The island of Oahu is truly a paradise. If you...

Senior Caregiver Job in Boca Raton

Barry M., 3290546

Job Location: FL, United States

Job starts: Jan 23 - Jan 23

Position is: Live-in, 50 Hrs/week

...

Showcase your profile

Share this profile!

Simply enter an email address, personalize the subject field, then click the "Send Email" button to share this profile with someone.

CLOSE X