GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.

Au Pair Job Available with Irish Family in Cork

Back to messages

Notes

Remaining characters available: 4500. Close

Profile Photos (16) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Referrals (0)

We are seeking an Au Pair for 6-12 months

Our Family
Irish
40-something
3 Children
Ages 8,12,14
Has pets
Christian
Will not accept smokers
Is not a single employer
Job Highlights
Female candidates only
0yrs experience required
35 to 40 hours/week
English is required
References available
Pay is $101-$200/wk

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.


Family's Introduction to Au Pair

We would be delighted if you could come and live with our family and live like a big sister to our Tom, Ali and Harry they would love the company.

We will spend the summer between Cork and Baltimore, Ireland. We spend a lot of time on the water so you should be comfortable with boats.

We have a child minder but this would be our fourth Au Pair. We would welcome you as a member of our family.

Cork is a great city, very cultural, very lively and full of bars and restaurants. Cobh is full of young people and au pairs. There is a pub meeting every Tuesday night that 30 au pairs attending Cork so the social life is great. I believe they have a face book page Cork Au Pair. We live five minutes from the airport and 30 mins from train station so it is a great location for travel.

Click to see more

Job Description

We are happy to put you in contact with our previous au pairs as we understand this is a big decision for you and us. We believe that this is best way for you to evaluate this opportunity.

Your focus will be on the children primarily. We place a high value on education and therefore a lot of your time will be spent helping the kids with their homework. We also value play time and want someone who can playful. We expect that you help to keep our home environment tidy and clean.

We are honest and fair and therefore you will work 40 a week and two night babysitting. If you work over one week it will be balance out the following.

We will also provide you with one weekend in a European City of your choice with flights and accommodation provided if you stay twelve months.

If you family visit you in Ireland we will provide you with the use of our Holiday Home.

We expect you to be fair and honest with us and the children as well.

We can clarify any question that you may have.

A Note from One Au Pair to the Next "Living Abroad and Being an Au Pair The idea of moving abroad and becoming an au pair with a family is a daunting thought. As intimidating as it may appear, it will be one of the best events in your life. I have had experience living abroad through a study abroad program, but what I didn’t have experience with was weaving myself into another family and get acclimated with new schedules, routines and personalities. And I am so proud of myself for doing it. The family may it so simple for me to feel welcome and comfortable. They instantly welcomed me with open arms. That daunting feeling I described earlier vanished quickly and was replaced with the feeling of being accepted. The kids are so great. Tommy and Sheena are very straightforward people. What you see is what you get. Having open communication was great. Choosing to be an au pair allows you opportunity for change. A new environment, new culture and will leave you with a new perspective. It allows you to see and learn a lot of new things. You’ll discover new capabilities. You’ll become independent. Working with the family, you are taking over the responsibility of the children, you will learn to make decisions and problem solve. Although the children are the priority, you will also be allow the time to explore and experience culture of Ireland. The Children ?What I loved about the family is that they mirrored my own family. I grew up with two brothers. Never a dull moment as the kids will always put a smile on your face. They love dancing around with music. One of my favorite things with the kids would be after dinners when we all help each other clean up, we would play fun music and dance around and laugh. Harry wins “best dancer” every timeter the topic. They love to know about my life back home. What I would like to do and what my friends and family are like. ?We would play out in the garden. Usually the game of choice was Cops and Robbers or Hide and Seek. When the kids have friends over, Cops and Robbers was always being played- loads of fun. The kids love strategizing. Tom, 11 (will be 12 come July) ?One word to describe Tom would be: rugby. His life thrives on the sport. You will be playing rugby with him and his friends. He loves explaining the sport and teaching you the ways. He is eager to learned about American football. Rainy days or every so often I’d play him in Madden on the Xbox. He loves stuff like that because he gets his one on one time with you. Also if there’s an amusement park in town and you love rollercoasters, he’s your man to go with! Being the oldest, he’s very responsible. Although like the older brother he is, he’ll tease the other two, but he always has a watchful eye on them. Tom is a sweet kid, helpful, eager to learn new things. Ali, 9 (will be 10 come June) ?Ali is queen. She’s brilliant. She handles the boys very well as she is mature for her age and always a step ahead. Loves to have her nails done and always learns new ways to have her hair gorgeous. She has developed a love for baking and decorating and she’s great at it! Ali also has a skill for crafts. I did a lot of crafts with the kids for fun or to create presents for the holidays and birthdays. She is the most active out of the kids- I don’t know how she does it! She’s involved in violin, singing, drama, dance, swimming, field hockey and gymnastics. She has her girl time with her friends, but loves to run around the yard with the boys too. Harry, 5 (will be 6 come June) ?Harry is a sponge. He will absorb every detail of the day and always eager to learn. He is extremely clever to the point where I would forget that he is only a 5 year old. I’d say Harry is a brilliant individual ( continued below)

Click to see more

Availability Schedule

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
Morning X X X X X X X
Afternoon X X X X X X X
Evening X X X X X X X
Job Availability
Jun 2017 - Jun 2017
From 6 - 12 months
Seeking Live In
Full-time

Employer Stats

Weekly Pay $101-$200 Response Rate60%
Last Login04 Oct 2017 Complaints0
Member Since08 May 2010 Favorite Adds0/30-days

Seeking Services

Additional Services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance
We Require
Female candidates only
0yrs experience required
Candidates that live within worldwide
Spoken English is required
We Prefer
23-27 year olds
13 or more years of education
No couples
Candidates who are:
  • - American
  • - Australian
  • - Canadian
  • - EU Nationalities
  •    - Austrian
  •    - Belgian
  •    - Danish
  •    - Dutch
  •    - British
  •    - Finnish
  •    - French
  •    - German
  •    - Italian
  •    - Norwegian
  •    - Portuguese
  •    - Spanish
  •    - Swedish
  •    - Swiss
  •    - Icelandic
  •    - Polish
  •    - Romanian
  •    - Luxembourgian
  •    - Bulgarian
  •    - Estonian
  •    - Greek
  •    - Hungarian
  •    - Irish
  •    - Lithuanian
  •    - Slovakian
  •    - Czech
  •    - Slovenian
  •    - Latvian
  •    - Maltese
  •    - Croatian
  •    - Cypriot
  •    - Monegasque
  • - New Zealander
We Speak
English



Childcare Services

Premium Showcase

Housekeeper from Blanes

Carmen O., 2175096

Currently living in: Spain

Available to work: May 17 - Dec 18

Preferred cities: Brussels

...

Housekeeper Job in Freeport

Worthy C., 2394123

Job Location: Freeport, The Bahamas

Job starts: Jun 17 - Jun 17

Position is: Live-in, 40 Hrs/week

...

Showcase your profile

CLOSE X