GreatAuPair - Where care providers and families click™. Child Care Jobs & Caregivers: Nanny, Babysitter, Au Pair, Pet Sitter, Housekeeping, Tutor, Personal Assistant and Senior Care.



Register Now or Sign in

Au Pair Job Available with American Family in Kaiserslautern

Back to messages


Remaining characters available: 4500. Close

Profile Photos (30) Videos (0) Reports (0) Interview Referrals (0)

Jan 2014

Amer in Germany seeks energetic & experienced aupair

Our Family
2 Children
Ages 7 yr; 4 yr
No pets
Will not accept smokers
Is not a single employer
Job Highlights
Female candidates only
3yrs experience required
40 to 45 hours/week
English is required
Driver's license required
Car is available
References available
Pay is Negotiable/wk

Email Sent

Your email request has been sent.
Please check back later for updates.

Family's Introduction to Au Pair

Hi potential au pair! (7 Jan 16) I'm searching for a down-to-Earth, fun, quality young woman with good common sense to enhance our family with their love, good nature and positive energy. We've had 10 au pairs grace our home, 2 have become godparents and another 2 have come back for a second time. With an extra pair of loving hands, I feel an au pair provides a balance needed with 2 working parents, as opposed to leaving the kids in school/daycare after-school care all day...

Location: In 2012 we moved to the Kaiserslautern area from the Stuttgart area for 2yrs and Heidelberg area for 10yrs. We've been in Germany a total of 15 years.

About us: I am from southern Indiana, my family lives in Kansas City and Phoenix. My husband is from Columbus, OH, although he is a "military brat" and lived outside of Savannah, GA; Ft. Sill, OK; Ft. Knox, KY; and many others. My undergrad degree was earned at a women's college in Columbia, MO called Stephens College. My husband's undergrad was at Bowling Green State University in Ohio. I work full time in Marketing; he is Active Duty, works in HR, will retire soon and go into teaching. He's also played soccer and tennis his whole life. I swam competitively for 12yrs, modeled for 13, former lifeguard, softball, competitive cheerleading, dance, gymnastics, fashion and hats! I love creating, crafts, and painting...& cannot play tennis to save my life. I now teach yoga, so gym membership and my classes are free to you.

The girls: Sophia is so sweet and sassy, has a big personality, just had her 4-yr birthday. She loves to dance and will most likely be on stage some day. She is potty trained, but accidents do happen. Vivianna is a lively 7 yr old girl, "going on10". Very gifted mentally and physically. She loves soccer, gymnastics, hip hop, ballet and tap and now tennis.

Logistics: Both daughters attend school/daycare 5 days per week. Vivi has kindergarten 7:55am-2:30pm. The au pair will pick up Vivi 1st and then drive to the other base to pick up Sophia, taking them to an activity or bring them home. As of Feb 2016, Sophia's preschool will move to the same base on which I work and Vivi's elementary school, so it will become easier for the morning drop off for me ..& the pick up for you.

Philosophy: I want the girls to have a balance of socialization with other kids and learned instruction/activity. Plus, it's just nice to let them be in their jammies, have "breakfast for dinner", have tutu tea parties around the house after a busy week with pockets of "home time". My recent au pairs conducted swim, dance and piano lessons, taught sign language, and of course took them to dance, gymnastics or soccer, depending on whatever the girls' interests at the time and season.

We are friendly, speak English, and welcome someone with lots of patience, love and understanding. Since there is never "enough of me" to go around, tantrums happen.

I'm a yoga instructor, so I try to live a healthy lifestyle--but do love my chocolate, baking "cutcapes" as my 7 yr old calls them, and a good bottle of wine at dinner.

I love to cook, but welcome someone who would like to introduce their favorite dishes as well. You do need to know how to cook and follow directions on a recipe. You need to know how to provide balanced meals for the children as we try to instill healthy habits--not sneak fixing them mac n' cheese and hot dogs every day because it is easy-- for you. Sometimes the kids are picky, so we just have to re-adjust...within reason.

I am Christian, but probably more "spiritual". My husband and eldest daughter have been baptized Greek Orthodox. We don't actively go to church, though. (Au prs can attend an on-base service).

My husband speaks German fluently. I speak basic German and know a little Spanish. All of my neighbors are German, but they speak good English. Both girls know some basic German and Spanish, so I welcome other languages to be learned/spoken to them.

Pls read the "daily routine" section and see upfront if it's something you can do--I'd hate for you to come on board and be surprised about how much you would be expected to do... I tried to be thorough, which is what many have wanted from feedback thru this process. Au pair work IS work (but rewarding!) I have had a few girls interview well, be good the 1st 2-3 weeks, and then "check out" of the situation bec they didn't realize it was real work as almost a mom or were uncomfortable with their role as the 3rd adult in the picture. Very frustrating situation for us as parents, and a complete disservice to the kids. But as previously stated, I've also had gals come back and do a 2nd session with us, and it's worked out great. It's all about having a positive attitude, being open to everything, and being flexible. This is such a rewarding life experience, so cherish it no matter where your adventure takes you.

We are a very happy and welcoming family, and I will only want an Au pair that is the same.

Click to see more

Job Description

Hi potential au pair! (updated 23 Apr 16) I need a short-term, live-in au pair to assist in the daily routine. ***JOB VACANCY: now -- end of Aug or beg of Sep. (Of course this can be a little flexible as these are rough estimations)

I will only interview Americans, Canadians, or any non-EU citizen* as they need to leave under the 90-day tourist status, aka Schengen Agreement, and per military installation pass rules. *(I CANNOT have anyone from an EU country due to military sponsorship regulations. And no one under 19 yrs of age. Sorry!

I want a happy, bubbly, positive person, adventurous, fun-loving (like I am!). You must have a background in either education/teaching/camp counseling, strong organizational skills, a solid up-bringing, an easy-going personality, a lot of patience, confidence and class. Hopefully you have traveled abroad before so there is not a big culture shock. ***Having previous European driving experience is a huge plus since you will be required to drive my car; therefore, you must have a valid US driver's license with a clean record and get an International driver's license to do this job.

--My ideal candidate is one that is looking to gain experience by helping me out around the house, taking them to/fr activities, pick up fr school..d by simply being a positive influence with our girls. The extra pair of hands is the main reason I'm getting an aupair that will give the kind of QUALITY attention they need--not sticking them in front of the TV.

--During the week I would have the au pair help get the kids up, dressed, breakfast in the morning so we all can get out the door on time. I would have her drive to pick up the kids from part-day preschool and 1st grade, 5 days/wk, give snack, play and/or take them to activities (dance, soccer, gymnastics). Parents take kids to school. Au pair picks up at either 2:30 or 3:30+ depending on the day.

--In the morning to mid-afternoon, the au pair can go to the gym, library, coffee shop, and would pick from the morning, prep snacks and activity bags, and prep/make dinner. Activities are Mon-Tue for now. Other stuff can be pool, movie or zoo...

--I need the au pair to take the initiative, jump right in, and take care of what needs to be done. (For example, if sweaters and shoes are on the steps, don't walk by them--put them where they need to go.) I need one who doesn't mind to do light housework every day of the week since we all are contributing to the mess allover: laundry, vacuum, help make food for kids, get dinner started, clean up after dinner, take out nightly food bio (trash), load/unload dishwasher, keep kids room and toys picked up in rooms and around the house. Once a routine is learned, then we should not have to constantly ask for things to be done, like a favor--that is what "becoming part of the family" is all about----everyone pitching in and doing their share. I'm a list-maker and usually always have a list going for home projects, groceries, or basic to do lists for the day or evening! ;)

-- I might need assistance in getting the girls ready for bed in the evening, such as reading stories, puzzles, bath time, brushing teeth, et al if my husband is unavailable. Some Weds due to his soccer practice.

--Free time: you would have pockets of free time during the day. There's of course a few daily tasks to help me keep the home running smoothly throughout the day, such as continual pick up after yourself and kids when ending a craft project, bkfst/lunch/snack time, etc. Saturday and Sunday are typically free. And maybe Monday or Friday, if it's a holiday and one of the parents are off of work to take care of the kids.

--Since my husband has come back from us living apart for 1 year, it's important that we have a date night once every 1-2 wks. I sometimes have to do things in the evening on a Fri/Sat night for work being that I'm in Marketing & Entertainment--never more than 1x/mo. That said, the occasional evening by yourself with the girls will need to happen, but it hasn't happened in a few months...

--I do not mind someone who is looking to travel on the weekends, making a little spending money over 3 months, but not let it get in the way with WHY you are actually here. I want someone who wants the "experience" of being here and who is not afraid to take the initiative with her environment, aka travel on your own by bus, by train, by plane and feel comfortable since I won't have time to always be there showing you around... Most of my au pairs have traveled every weekend with either a couple of US tourist organizations affiliated with the military (USO and MWR Outdoor Recreation) or do a trip on her own.

--All is negotiable based on hours preferred, personal goals, local rates, etc.

Click to see more

Availability Schedule

Morning X X X X X
Afternoon X X X X X
Evening X X X X X
Job Availability
Jan 2017 - Jan 2017
From 3 - 3 months
Seeking Live In/Out

Employer Stats

Weekly Pay Negotiable Response Rate89%
Last Login23 Oct 2016 Complaints0
Member Since19 Nov 2011 Favorite Adds0/30-days

Seeking Services

Additional Services we're seeking:
Infant care Special needs care Elderly care
Housekeeping Pet care Tutoring
Shopping & Errands Office Assistance
We Require
Female candidates only
3yrs experience required
Candidates that live within worldwide
Valid drivers license
Spoken English is required
We Prefer
23-27 year olds
12 or more years of education
No couples
Candidates who are:
  • - American
We Speak

Childcare Services

Premium Showcase

Au Pair from London

Lea A., 2480450

Currently living in: United Kingdom

Available to work: Jul 17 - Jul 18

Hei, my name is Lea. 29 year old, from Israel. I just landed in London after few mon...

Senior Caregiver Job in Amsterdam

Ed K., 2491216

Job Location: Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Job starts: Jul 17 - Oct 17

Position is: Live-in, 25 Hrs/week

Hello, My name is Ed, am 60 and living in my own appartment in Amsterdam, near the ...

Showcase your profile